Memories of a bike trip I took in my youth

I.
The sun and the wind and the rain
All play their part
We liked certain parts more than others

II.
Do you remember the signs
That warned of bears
And said, “stay in your car”?
We read them from our bikes
And laughed nervously

III.
The journey is the point
The destination only marks the end

IV.
One thing I’ve learned:
Riding down might be more fun,
But attaining the summit is victory!

V.
If not for our helmets
The freezing rain
On Sunwapta Pass
Would have really hurt!

11 thoughts on “Memories of a bike trip I took in my youth

  1. No bears in the UK, Bryan, but I would still love to see signs that warn of them! I didn’t have a bike until I was about ten or eleven and was envious of the boys from our block who flew past on their way to explore other parts of town. I agree that ‘The journey is the point / The destination only marks the end’.

  2. Pingback: Day Twenty-Four
  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2023 Day 24 | awritersfountain

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!