Miss Sophie

Miss Sophie’s favourite colour was the softest springtime green
she loved the scent of flowers and the sounds of marshland frogs
she stayed away from critters, though, like kittens and like dogs
because she had a hate for things that might be less than clean

So daily by the mirror she would primp and she would preen
she never went on dates because she thought that boys were hogs
instead she spent her time perusing cleaning tips on blogs
and thought herself more pretty even than a beauty queen

one day, though, as she combed her hair she noticed she was sad
and realized that the source of this was that she was so vain
“I really must go out,” she thought, “and get myself a bud”
and so she went to find a friend, and though she tried real bad
each one she tried to talk to simply moved across the lane
it turns out, though she was quite clean, she might as well be mud

~~

at dVerse, today, Frank Hubeny has prompted us to write poems in common meter (metrically, this would sound like iambic heptameter, but not necessarily all on one line). Frank chose to write his poem as an unrhymed fourteener.  I chose to follow his lead on writing a fourteener, but thought that, just for fun, I would try to do so within the framework of a petrarchan sonnet rhyme scheme.

This is also a response to the Daily Post, where the theme word today is clean.

14 thoughts on “Miss Sophie

  1. Pingback: milibro2016blog
  2. Nice ballad with a memorable bud-mud rhyme at the end. I was able to count the meter perfectly except in this one line: “and realized that the source of this was that she was so vain”. That might be due to the “that the” which could be shorted to “the”, but a little irregularity is unimportant.

      • If you use two syllables rather than three as I do then the meter works perfectly. Ultimately the sound is what matters. I could read your poem and hear it sounding well even with three syllables. As I reread your poem I noticed it also has a Petrarchian sonnet form. Nice formal structure. The next time I write a sonnet I will try doing something like that.

      • Thanks Frank. Your previous comment reminded me that we don’t all sound the same when we talk, so yes, the sound of the reader makes a great deal of difference. I hadn’t written a Petrarchan sonnet for quite some time (I lean more towards the Elizebethan structure), so wanted to do a bit of experimentation with the form. So once again, thanks for a fabulous prompt!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

