The Ship Will Come

The ship will come, to take her away
To her brand new home across the sea
The schedule is secret, she knows not the day
And so she waits, expectantly

“I hope it’s soon,” she says to me,
“I’d like to board, be on my way”
And though I’ll miss her thoroughly,
The ship will come, to take her away

Compared to there, this land is grey
And filled with pain and misery
“I’m ready to go,” is what she’ll say,
To her brand new home across the sea

When the call to board comes, there she’ll be
For from the docks, she does not stray
And though she waits most eagerly
The schedule is secret, she knows not the day

No cost to board will she have to pay
The price has been covered, and so she’ll sail free
To the Land of Joy where she’ll go to stay
And so she waits, expectantly

The price was Jesus’ blood, you see
And Heaven is not so far away
It’s where her heart now wants to be
And though she may not know the day,
The ship will come.

~~

Rondeau Redoublé for OLN at dVerse.  Written for a friend who loves life fully (as can be seen by the sparkle in her eyes), but knows that she will love the next life so much more.

Sharing this also to the Daily Post on Feb.14, 2017 (the word of the day is “expectation”, so I figured this fit.

~~

Notes on form:  Opening stanza is A1,B1,A2,B2, each line takes its turn as the closing line of the following 4 stanzas (babA1, abaB1, babA2, abaB2).  The closing stanza is 5 lines – baba(R), where R is the rentrement, or a repetition of the first half of the poem’s first line (usually does not rhyme).

13 thoughts on “The Ship Will Come

  1. “The ship will come, to take her away”

    Madness seems to be the theme for the day, from what I can tell. So after reading this line, I’m wondering if that’s where this will go as well … if she’s going to be locked up in an ocean asylum. 🙂

    A bit further in, I actually started to think this was about an elderly person having to go to a nursing home. Not until the final stanza did I catch where you were going with this.

    P.S. My daughter talks about “shipping” ALL the time (shipping = being in love with the idea of your favorite TV characters falling in love with each other). It is the funniest thing. She gets so worked up over it all. 🙂

  2. The repetition was seamless done that it didn’t look like you were writing to form Bryan ~ A moving tribute to your friend ~ May she she find her true Home.

  3. So very beautiful. I am late to my reading as we are now in Bermuda in our rented apartment for the month and the internet can be spotty at times. But so very glad I found my way to your post today. 🙂

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

