if my day were described with words on a musical score

The day begins fortissimo
with the sudden blare of the alarm
I stumble largo towards the kitchen
where the stemless quarter-note coffee beans
wait to be ground to staccatos

the coffee, once made
flows cantabile down my throat

and then I head to work
where allegro is punctuated
with intervals of prestissimo
in a harsh discord of C major bass
against an E flat minor treble

here’s hoping for an evening
of rallentando and diminuendo
as I head for the rubato of sleep

~~

at dVerse, we’re using music as our muse.  I decided to use a bunch of words that I still remember from piano lesson days

16 thoughts on “if my day were described with words on a musical score

  1. GREAT take on the prompt! Especially liked that heading for the bedroom after a hard day’s work, for a bit of rubato! 🙂 It’s always good to end with a fermata! 🙂 Well done!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

