Paperclips

an upright rectangular container
a lid with a circular hole and magnetic collar
and resting inside:
a tangle of paperclips
awaiting the moment
when the container is shaken
affixing a few of them to the top
from whence they can be plucked
to finally serve their purpose

and I wonder, sometimes
if we are not shaken enough

~~

Today is Open Link Night at dVerse, and our host, Victoria, has asked us where we go for inspiration for our poetry. Honestly, inspiration for me can be anything or everything…from the sound of a small metal tool makes when it slides across concrete (if it is accidentally kicked), to the colours of clouds as they are kissed by the rising sun, to thoughts on life and death. Inspiration is as far away as the stars, and as close as my coffee cup. Even, as can be seen in today’s poem, a paperclip container might suffice to fuel the muse!

NaBloPoMo – Day 3

17 thoughts on “Paperclips

  1. Ha, that’s exactly what I said: anything can be an inspiration for poetry. In fact, one of the exercises we did once at a poetry workshop was to pick the most mundane concrete object close to us, examine it closely and write about it. I picked a pair of scissors and by the end of the hour was almost frightened by them and all they conjured up in me.

  2. I love your philosophical question at the end here, Bryan. What’s aggravating is when you only want one paperclip but find multiple paperclips are strung together. A minor inconvenience…but still…

  3. You made me look at my paperclips in a different light, Bryan. I have three containers, all round – one has coloured paperclips and the other plain metal – one even has compartments with different sized paperclips. I have never joined them together in a necklace and now I’ve read your poem, I can’t stop staring at them! I think they have to go…

  4. Nicely done! Love the metaphor. (Just seeing the word paperclips in a poem, reminded me of the documentary “Paper Clips,” and how mere paper clips started an international chain of events and transformed an entire community. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it!)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

