How many roads?

I’ve walked along my share of roads
I’d count ’em, but no longer can
and even though all of those miles have passed
I still don’t know if I’m a man

Some days when I look at the good that I’ve done
I feel that the answer is “yes”
but then all my vices and sins rear their heads
and then I’m a boy, still, I guess

There’s sand in my eyes and there’s dirt in my teeth
from the storm blowing in from the east
but no answers are found in the wind, oh my friend
no answers are found in the least

so how many roads must I still walk upon
before I am truly a man?
I s’pose til I’ve walked til the ‘boy’s’ left behind
but I don’t really know if I can

~~

Bob Dylan has mumbled his way to a Nobel Prize for Literature. I can’t really say that I’ve every been a Dylan fan, but he certainly was a prolific songwriter/poet. Because of his Nobel prize, we are writing poetry at dVerse that is inspired by, or is reaction against Mr. Dylan.

23 thoughts on “How many roads?

  1. I liked what he wrote and stood for but his singing is atrocious! I like your take on his song and how you made it personal. I think we waffle between adult and child our whole lives…nothing wrong with that! I always enjoy your work, Bryan.

  2. I like your response, definitely deeper than Bob’s lyrics ~ No answers can be found in the wind, and I admire your honesty when you write you don’t if you can be (a man) ~

  3. I really like this part: “and then I’m a boy, still, I guess / There’s sand in my eyes and there’s dirt in my teeth”

  4. I really like what you’ve done with this, Bryan, especially the stanza:
    ‘There’s sand in my eyes and there’s dirt in my teeth
    from the storm blowing in from the east
    but no answers are found in the wind, oh my friend
    no answers are found in the least’

  5. Turned his words upside down, sitting on a stump, side of the road, worn boots off, shake the sand and pebbles and ponder how the hell did I get here. The wind is silent.

  6. Bryan you re-worked wonders with the ‘blowin in the wind’ and the boyhood mistakes trailing on behind.
    “There’s sand in my eyes and there’s dirt in my teeth
    from the storm blowing in from the east” – just brilliant

  7. Bob Dylan, like him or not, is an icon, a poet, an activist. His style changes every few years, but for over a decade. with his voice turning into a croaking, he should be only singing blues songs; that he could get away with. Have you heard any cuts off BOB DYLAN SINGS SINATRA–what a travesty.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

