If not for the fame…then what?

nobody writes poetry for the fame:
I doubt that I’ll ever
sell out a concert hall –
where adoring fans will scream
to hear me reciting free verse,
or swoon as they listen
to tight metered form poetry
I’ll never have gobs of money
thrust into my hands
just for the privilege
of having my autograph
on a note-pad
Chances are slim
that I’ll ever be stopped
on the street by someone who gushes
“Aren’t you Bryan the poet?”
or, “I recognize you from
the picture on your blog”
nobody writes poetry for the fame:
so what’s the point?
Why does the robin sing
as it splashes in a puddle
why does a baby coo when
she sees her favourite toy
why does a dog bare his teeth
at an approaching stranger
why does the nettle sting
at the slightest touch?
The bird, the baby, the beast,
even the plants of pain
do nothing for the recognition
or the praise
but simply give expression
of what they feel or of what they are
nobody writes poetry for the fame
and that is probably good
for the fame of poetry
would change the nature of the poet
and that would destroy both
the songs
and the stings

~~

sharing at dVerse for OLN

15 thoughts on “If not for the fame…then what?

  1. The sales of my two poetry books on Amazon will certainly attest to the truth of this poem. Very nicely penned, even it if won’t make you famous beyond the dVerse and online poetry crowd.

  2. I agree about the fame thing but if you are happy about writing it, then perhaps it is the best thing. For me, it takes out the stress of my job. And I agree about writing for fame – its not real, without the stings too!

  3. for the fame of poetry
    would change the nature of the poet
    and that would destroy both
    the songs
    and the stings…
    Wonderful poem this is about the writing of poetry. I love the questions you posed and I love this last bit.

  4. Well…..there are some very famous poets out there 🙂 And I do enjoy reading their words….but I must admit. I truly enjoy my morning forays with coffee in hand to reading the works at dVerse where people write, I think, for the sheer enjoyment of self-expression. hmmm I’m going to look for your picture on this blog site and watch for you on future walks 🙂

  5. I’ve been asked why I write, given that it’s unlikely to bring me fame or fortune. Your poem is a wonderful answer. Plus, if I didn’t write (or create art) I’d probably explode. And that would be messy!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

