God Has a Sense of Humour

I wasn’t too sure what I wanted to do: pursue a relationship with a girl who was clearly interested in me, or pursue a job opportunity in Anchorage, Alaska.  I could not do both, and so I stood in my room and prayed for God’s guidance.

A few years prior to that, I had attended Jinny’s wedding.  At the time, I was very single, but longed for that to change.  Naturally, when her husband shot the garter for “all the eligible bachelors”, I was determined that I would be the one to catch it.  Its trajectory put it about a foot or two higher than I could reach, but in a never-to-be-repeated moment of gazelle-like grace, I leapt and snagged it out of the air!  I took it home, and hung it on a pop-bottle that I had, for whatever reason, attached to the ceiling of my room.

There that garter hung, all but forgotten, for all those many days…and then fell right in front of me, the moment I uttered “Amen!”  That girl and I have been married now for almost 15 years.

caterpillars wait
in their cocoons until spring –
then butterflies dance

16 thoughts on “God Has a Sense of Humour

  1. I was smiling at your story Bryan. Good that the girl was interested in you too and that you got the garter. And such a lovely waiting for spring, then blossoming to caterpillars. Cheers for many more years!!!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

