But on the whole, I’m actually quite brave…

things that bump and thump at night
and spiders give me quite a fright
When cars go “beep!” or drive too fast
or when I think of nukes amassed
the colour pink, and wild deer
these are all things that cause me fear
an empty cup, a full one too,
a half-filled one and yes, there’s YOU
the number 5, the letter C
are terrifying! Yes-sir-ree!
the smell of grass, the sound of birds
the meanings of some certain words
But I will tell you now, my dear
the thing I’m scared of most is fear.

~~

Written for dVerse, where we’re writing about fears. I’m afraid to admit that the above list is almost entirely fictitious.

21 thoughts on “But on the whole, I’m actually quite brave…

  1. Funny and well done. I like this and see myself in some lines:
    When cars go “beep!” or drive too fast

    the meanings of some certain words
    [or for me, even just the sound]

    the thing I’m scared of most is fear.

    A great drumroll of a last line!

  2. So glad it’s fictitious…as I was really wondering about the deer…haha.
    Great rhythm, rhyme and a fun approach to the prompt. 🙂

    • I’m much more frightened of moose than deer…but only when I’m driving down a dark highway as they can be absolutely deadly to hit…although deer aren’t much fun on the highway either)

  3. SMiLes.. photophobia..
    the most horrible
    fear of all
    the fear
    of liGht
    and i must
    say that i did
    not enjoy as Vampire
    for 66 months where even
    the street light at 3 AM
    was the Sun on Fire
    in Fear
    and pain
    oF liGht
    so lone
    a
    gone
    in dark
    so
    deep..
    hmm.. i rise
    i liGht uP noW
    DArk iS history
    HeLL iS gONe.. noThing
    i Am afraid of but literal
    heights.. even though i already
    went to
    the lowest
    place of
    aLL in REAL
    EARTH HELL THEN
    where even demons fear to
    tread.. and i do mean that pARt
    literally
    mY
    FriEnd..
    tHere ain’t no
    going back tHere for
    mE.. LesSonG LeArned
    Cherish
    LiGht with
    aLL my Might
    and SWord of Pen
    and Dance of sANE SonG as REAL..:)

  4. You must have read that list of phobias. 🙂 I was stunned to see that there were so many. I enjoyed your lighthearted poke at fear…and that last line is very astute.

  5. ha. this has a jaunty rhythm that belays the fear,
    and there are some things that we have in fear that are attached to little
    or no reality and yet it is all too real, to us. the number 5,
    i may need to look at that in a new light. smiles.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

