Third Step From The Bottom

The third step from the bottom squeaks
and so I always try to miss that one
as I descend to meet my secret love
it would not do to let that step
alert the others that I’m up
and out of bed where I belong
but soon I sit in guilty pleasure
bathed in light from the open door
of the freezer

and spoon in hand, I taste my love
straight from the box
of ice cream.

~~

written for the “Secret Love” prompt at Imaginary Garden with Real Toads.  This is my first time participating at this site.  The above is a pure work of fiction (our freezer doesn’t have a light).

8 thoughts on “Third Step From The Bottom

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

