Perspective

Does the block of marble
shudder from the strike
of hammer on chisel?
Does it feel agony
as bits of itself are
obliterated into dust?
Does it silently curse
the one who wields those
instruments of torture
or does the image
feel trapped by
the excess layers and
see the artist
as a surgeon, come
to release it
from its marble prison?

statue

~~

written for dVerse.  The prompt today is to write something about sculptures…from the point of view of either the artist or the sculpture itself.

13 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. WOW! I never thought about it like that before 😀 Love your perspective on the sculpture and the emotions that it experiences when created. Brilliant write 😀

  2. Oh what a great perspective to take with the prompt! 🙂 Chisel me a conversation indeed. What price this beauty takes? Title fits the piece exactly! So glad you posted 🙂

  3. I love the questions and I can imagine the ending lines with the artist
    as a surgeon, come
    to release it
    from its marble prison?

    A unique perspective Bryan.

  4. Seeking release, I’d say! One artist explained his process like this: “I visualize what I want to carve (sculpt) and cut away everything that doesn’t look like my subject”. I can imagine it being more cerebral than that. Your questions raised make this a more complete poem, Bryan!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

