12 Bar

The day’s heat was oppressive
this night-time heat is worse
the heat inside my bedroom
is a certain type of curse
I’m tossing and I’m turning
I’ve count a million sheep
but it’s so very hot in here
a cannot get to sleep
the ac is a hummin
but still this room is hot
my kids and wife are slumberin’
but this guy: no he’s not

I glance toward the window
the light grows in the east
I haven’t slept a wink tonight
not one bit in the least
The day’s heat was oppressive
this night-time heat is worse
the heat inside my bedroom
is a certain type of curse
now I will need to rise soon
although I’d love to snooze
and that is why I sing to you
the sleepless summer blues

I close my eyes for one last time
my head feels like a block
and this time doze a bit
but then the buzzing of the clock
I stumble out of bed and start
to put my clothing on
why was my room so hot last night
so early is the dawn
The day’s heat was oppressive
but last night the heat was worse
the heat inside my bedroom
was a certain type of curse

~~

Another “sing-able” poem for dVerse.  Decided to try something that would work to a 12-Bar Blues rhythm.

11 thoughts on “12 Bar

      • Our weather has gone back and forth so much this spring and summer that I’ve actually gone from air conditioning to heat to air conditioning all within 48 hours.

  1. So enjoyed the cadence and refrain of your words Bryan ~ I hate it too when the heat is too much ~ The AC better works if not, we open all the windows for some cool breeze at night ~

  2. DeJaVue.. perHaps..
    hEar.. i reMember
    anoTheR SonG
    aBouT WitH
    Summer
    HUmid
    heAt..
    to tUrn thE
    pillow oF Y i too..
    aGaiN.. never findinG
    cool but River Frog SongS
    And cricketS sinG ouTsidE
    thrU WinDoW iN WatErrAiR..:)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

