Trains Roll By

The following is written for dVerse, where we were asked to write poems that are “singable”.  I followed Bjorn’s lead and went with a ballad.  This story is in no way autobiographical.  It is fiction from engine to caboose.

~~

I was born in the town where dreams come to die
and “hope” meant the rails heading out
and the gang that I hung with, we were all so sure
we’d escape, we had no doubt

When we were just a gang of boys
we’d watch the trains roll by
and talk ’bout how when we grew up
we’d bid this town goodbye

Bill Williamson was the first to leave
when he finally lost all hope
the boxcar he left in had all the doors closed
to hide the marks of the rope

When we were just a gang of boys
we’d watch the trains roll by
and talk ’bout how when we grew up
we’d bid this town goodbye

Before too much longer Jeff Jacobs went too
departed this town without charm
but the only tracks that led him out
were the ones found in his arm

When we were just a gang of boys
we’d watch the trains roll by
and talk ’bout how when we grew up
we’d bid this town goodbye

Yes one then the next one left this town for good
a few actually fled with their life
I heard though that Arthur (my best bud of all)
is in jail now for beating his wife

When we were just a gang of boys
we’d watch the trains roll by
and talk ’bout how when we grew up
we’d bid this town goodbye

Somehow though I find that I’ve been left behind
in this small town where dreams come to die
I guess, though, I’ve ended up better than most
but I find myself wondering why?

I never left this little town
I’ve bid the gang goodbye
I think about my boyhood friends
as I watch those trains roll by

I think about my boyhood friends
as I watch those trains roll by

I think about my boyhood friends
as a tear rolls from my eye

14 thoughts on “Trains Roll By

  1. The rhythm is undeniable and the words roll out like ….yep…a train. I admire the fictitious story in your “song”. I could never come up with that in a million years. Love it.

  2. Panhandle Blues of Florida too..
    From Defuniak to Quincy
    just much not to do..
    for work for play
    the woods
    don’t say
    progressive
    lives tHere aT aLL..
    fortunate i.. a little
    west with Navy Bases..
    Beaches.. tourism.. etc..
    joBs to bE gaiNed and fUn
    iN NAtuRe gaLore.. sUre i staYed
    iN Paradise1.. and made A LiVinG
    aT iT
    2..:)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

