NaPoWriMo Day 29 – When Eyes Are Closed

It’s been a while since I’ve tried my hand at a Rondeau, so here you go!  Sharing this at NaPoWriMo

~~

When eyes are closed what do you see
do you imagine vividly
with colours crisp and sharp as glass
the reds of fire, the green of grass
each feathered leaf upon a tree?
Or is it more a mystery
the lines ablurr and colour-free
tell me what images amass
when eyes are closed?
Our images might not agree
I see a blob, you see a bee
my thoughts are colour-blind, alas
and oft times they’re a swirled morass
and focused they will never be
when eyes are closed.

~~

I read an article a few days ago about a man with Aphantasia .  This is a condition that renders him unable to conjure up any mental images.  At all.  This got me to thinking about how we see things through our “mind’s eye”.  I discovered through this that when I close my eyes and try to imagine something, some images come in quite clear, some are quite undefined, but I cannot seem to bring colour into my imaginings.  I can understand and assume colour, but with my eyes closed, the images are grey-scale.  How do you see the world when you imagine?

 

One thought on “NaPoWriMo Day 29 – When Eyes Are Closed

  1. Lovely poem, Bryan – and a very interesting poll. I am amazed at these results. It never occurred to me that there might be people who cannot imagine an image and see it vividly and in its accurate colors. I always do so, and I’m just now finding out how truly blessed I am. Thanks for sharing this.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

