Song of Fire – Part VI – We Find Ourselves in a Delightful Spell (NaPoWriMo Day 23)

The following poem is designed to stand alone, but is also part of a larger work that I have been working on (for more details, click on “The Elements – Sonnet Cycles” up above to read a description of what I am trying to do.  Or hover over that same tab and select either “Fire” (to read my current cycle up to the current point), or “Water” (to read a cycle that I’ve actually completed).  I am sharing this for the Apr.23 “Sonnet” prompt at NaPoWriMo, and will also share this next week for Open Link Night at dVerse.

~~

We find ourselves in a delightful spell
as we sit around the flames. The fire
causes reflection, yet freedom to tell
those aspects of ourselves that we tire
of keeping secret but have been afraid
to share. The blaze becomes a place where we
want to drop pretense. As metal is made
pure through refining of fire, maybe
it also purifies us. Even though
tall tales are often told, they don’t detract
from the honest camaraderie. We know
what to believe, and what is not fact
Even in fiction, the mood remains true
While those around speak a story or two

19 thoughts on “Song of Fire – Part VI – We Find Ourselves in a Delightful Spell (NaPoWriMo Day 23)

  1. This is so touching, perhaps because it speaks to what I’ve been thinking this week about my poetry. I love this part: “freedom to tell
    those aspects of ourselves that we tire / of keeping secret but have been afraid / to share.”

  2. There is such magnificent wisdom in this. These lines:
    “freedom to tell
    those aspects of ourselves that we tire
    of keeping secret but have been afraid
    to share”
    seem to reflect what I have seen in other poems today.

  3. I do think sometimes it is nice to really have a place to tell one’s truth. I remember those days of sitting around a campfire with a group of friends, being mesmerized by the flames, and sharing the things of one’s life. There is something about the flames that invites truth telling…. I enjoyed this, Bryan.

  4. So interesting, Bryan, that somehow sitting around a fire gives us the space to be more forthcoming with our “stories”…whether truth or fiction, or a mixture of both. I enjoy these ponderings.

  5. I do love this. Friendship and those who know us so well they know our trruths and fictions. The fire draws us closer and warms us as our closeness warms us. This is a wonderful cycle of sonnets.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

