NaPoWriMo Day 14 – Coffee

A san san for NaPoWriMo
Rhyme scheme abc,abd,cd, and three images repeated 3 times within the lines.

Also sharing that at dVerse, because today is Open Link Night.  I was hoping to share the next part of my sonnet cycle “Song of Fire”, but alas, inspiration has not been kind to me with that sonnet cycle.  The san san is a wonderful form, though, so I submit this one instead.

~~

I stand and wait here with my cup
for water’s heat to kiss fresh ground
beans and fill with brew the coffee pot

kissed fresh ground beans will wake me up
with coffee, but until then I’ll stand around
and wait with my empty cup beside me…

…no longer must I stand and wait, for water hot
has kissed those fresh ground beans to coffe

19 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 14 – Coffee

  1. oh lord, i very much know this feeling. this is such an adorable poem with words that feel like they’re wrapped snugly in brown paper packages tied up with string. altogether a quaint tone. lovely work.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

