NaPoWriMo Day 12 – Descending to the Top

The descent of an elevator
could be the metaphor for
many things in life…
…financial ruin
…depression
…drug addiction
…destruction of a relationship

The descent of an elevator
could be the metaphor for
many things in life…
…season’s shift from warm to cold
…cycle of abuse
…hatred running rampant
…gangs

So who would think that
the descent of an elevator
could give rise
to the highlight of my day?

~~

Written for NaPoWriMo (although I’m off prompt today). Yesterday I was at the shopping mall, and when I was leaving, I took the elevator to the parkade beneath the mall. The elevator car was completely full, and I was squished in the corner.
When the doors opened, everyone started shuffling out. I was the last to exit the car, just after a lady with a toddler girl in a stroller. As the lady pulled the stroller out of the elevator, the little girl looked up at me, said “BYE!” (as if she knew me), and then smiled and waved when I said goodbye to her

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 12 – Descending to the Top

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 12 – “Hate, A List Of Things I Really” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

