NaPoWriMo Day 9 – Fatherhood

When I first learned that I was to be a dad
I was filled with fear
fear of loss of my freedom
fear of responsibility
fear on inadequacy

and then my first, son
and later a second son
and eventually a third son came into the world
and on each of those days, my heart melted with love

There’s a joy in fatherhood
in watching them learn new skills
in seeing them play together
in observing them maturing

So now, when I think of the fact that I’m a dad
I’m afraid to say…I’m still terrified!

~~

NaPoWriMo Day 9 – we have been asked to write something that we’re afraid to say. The fact is…being a dad is a terrifying, joyful, painful, beautiful, frustrating, rewarding experience!

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 9 – Fatherhood

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

