NaPoWriMo Day 4 – The Cruelest Month

If April is the cruelest month
as T.S. Eliot claimed
I think that I can fairly say
that dentists must be blamed.
according to their calendar
It’s “dental health month”, (so they say)
and if they could they’d fill or yank
my teeth then take my cash away
They serve a purpose, I’ll admit
but I won’t say it with much grace
for there’s more metal than enamel
in the mouth part of my face

each yankèd tooth creates a ditch
that somehow makes the dentists rich

~~

The NaPoWriMo prompt today is “the cruel(l)est month. We get to pick which month, but I decided to follow T.S.Eliot’s lead and keep April…and through in my dislike of dentists. For whatever reason, I seem to be gravitating to “ballad sonnets” for most of these prompts.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 4 – The Cruelest Month

  1. So true, so true. I actually had a dentist once who was so peaceful and cheerful that I didn’t mind going. And he really tried to do all he could to save every tooth without costing me a fortune. But he retired. My new dentist is a good, committed man, but it’s not the same.

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 4 – “The Truth In The Triviality” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

