A Psalm

Why do I cast my gaze downward
when troubles come my way?
When tormentors seem to come
from every side,
why do I despair?
I retreat like a turtle
within his shell when
the wicked come my way
even though I long to
stretch my wings and soar
high above these earthly trials.

But no longer shall my eyes be downcast,
for I know where I might seek help
and in whom I can take refuge.

I lift up my eyes to the mountains
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the LORD
The maker of heaven and earth.

~~

Italicized portion of my poem is Psalm 121:1-2 (NIV)

Written for dVerse, where Lynn has asked us to use mountains as our inspiration.  Mountains and poetry made me think of Psalm 121 (a song of ascents).

13 thoughts on “A Psalm

  1. Oh, I love this! Very nicely done.
    I discovered your site through your comment on the NaPoWriMo site today. Now that I’ve come to visit, I MUST ask you: What are “whirled peas”?

    • A friend of mine once gave me the phrase “visualize whirled peas” as a silly turn on “visualize world peace”. I liked the title, so had to use it for my blog (which was originally intended for the purpose of humour, but seems to have evolved over time to primarily poetry). Thanks for stopping by, and have fun with NaPoWriMo!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

