Walking Song

The road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began
Now far away the Road has gone
And I must follow if I can -(Bilbo Baggins/J.R.R. Tolkien)

Down from the door where it began
I see a set of larger prints
that I will step in if I can

Now far away the Road has gone
Those larger footprints fade from view
But still I’ll journey on and on

And I must follow if I can
the path that wiser folk have walked
If I should call myself a man.

~~

I figured that the trimeric form might work well for expanding on a quote. The idea of this poem is that of a child stepping in the footprints of a parent…and hopefully growing up to be an adult that his/her parent can be proud of.  This is being shared with dVerse.

14 thoughts on “Walking Song

  1. I like the benefit of learning from those who have wisely walked on before me ~ But still we must make our own journey and even veer away from those familiar roads to find ourselves ~

  2. I like the way you have been experimenting with the trimeric form, Bryan. Using a quote and expanding it is something I haven’t thought of, but it worked very well in your poem. And so true that it is good to walk the paths of wise people who have come before!! Thanks for taking part doubly!

  3. Road of iNfiNiTy no end beginning..
    Road of eyes.. begin and end..
    And begin again..
    Humans smAll..

    Road of eyes.. begin and end..
    Give it all in.. take.. Love beyond..
    Grains of sand.. humble sees more..

    And begin again..
    Never ending story..
    Now..

    Humans SmAll..
    Big enough
    Be SmaLL..:)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

