Train on Bridge

IMG_1239editcloseup

a train traverses
a bridge over the river –
landfill in background

~~

This is one of my favourite pictures that I have ever taken…but the irony of the picture is that the hill in the background is the city landfill.

I love trains, and I love train bridges. One of my favourite train memories was when I was on the walkpath beside the tracks on a train bridge (not the one in the photo). There is something wonderfully thrilling about being that close to a train rumbling past, while the bridge shakes beneath you.

Written for dVerse where Bill is having us write about trains

4 thoughts on “Train on Bridge

  1. Really makes that last line pop – we have so much trash,
    and remnants of our gluttony – i mean our living, ha.
    I guess in many ways, the train has joined the pile
    of all the things we leave behind.

  2. There is a lot of irony in this – excellent picture, landfill. It makes me smile at the thought. But feeling that bridge or ground shake as that iron monster rips through is indeed thrilling. Great photo, excellent tercet.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

