The Tale of the Tiny Raindrop

The raindrop cried, “I’m but one drip!
I hardly count at all
How can I hope to make a change
When I’m so very small?”

And yet, when all his brethren jumped
out of the dark blue cloud
He joined their ranks: a billion strong
descending to the ground

The drop was most surprised to find
that when the trip was done
He’d helped to cause a massive flood
the power of one plus one…

So now, whenever he feels small,
his part too small to play
He thinks about that mighty flood
and this is what he’ll say:

“A flood could never come about
monsoons there’d never be
The rain forests would have no rain
if not for drips like me!”

~~

Sharing this with dVerse, where the theme today is “monsoon”.  My use of the theme was rather tangential, but I did manage to weave it in 🙂

25 thoughts on “The Tale of the Tiny Raindrop

  1. I wonder if the trip back up was as exciting, or if it was like waiting in those lines at amusement parks. Ha.

    A nice moral to your story as well.

    I am reminded of the Margaret Mead quote:

    “A small group of thoughtful people could change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

    • with my nearly completed sonnet cylcle on water, I have been trying hard to make water a metaphor with deep meanings (pun not intended)…so with this water-themed piece, I needed to go a bit lighter, but still wanted to have some “meat” to it. Thanks Linda!!

  2. that is cool – how strong they are when together – and same with people – what we can do when holding hands and doing things together – it could change the world

  3. A never land..
    drips and drops..
    single travels splash
    in swirling moisture flow..
    oh change.. ah change.. is in the air..
    a drop of life
    is all
    it
    takes as Monsoon
    grows in
    Light
    of
    heArT..:)

  4. “And yet, when all his brethren jumped
    out of the dark blue cloud
    He joined their ranks: a billion strong
    descending to the ground”

    Oh I so love this Bryan – thank you for joining my prompt.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

