Day…One (sigh)

I knew that posting consistently every day would not, could not last forever. I made it to 101 days of posting at least one thing each day, but yesterday and the day before were silent on Quest4Peas. I am going to try to be fairly consistent, but I also don’t want to burn myself out by striving for unattainable goals. Having a couple days off has been good.

I have started reading “Four Quartets” by T.S.Eliot…as it comes highly recommended by the professor of the Intro to Poetry class that I took back in ’95.  I have to admit, I am not understanding it at all.  I plan on finishing reading through the whole thing, and then trying to re-read it with some “cheat notes”…and hopefully learn a bit.  Writing poetry, and intuitively understanding poetry are, apparently two different things.

Time present and time past
Are both perhaps present in time future
And time future contained in time past.
If all time is eternally present
All time is unredeemable.
-T.S.Eliot, Burnt Norton (Four Quartets)

Sure, perhaps I don’t understand it…yet…but the language is beautiful, and I look forward to delving deeper.

in seeking to grasp
in time present or future –
discovering self

~~

Not sure…I think that the above might qualify as a haibun…

5 thoughts on “Day…One (sigh)

  1. I wouldn’t worry about it. What is important, is that what you post be a quality post and something you are proud to which to affix your name. I know WP stresses daily posts, blah blah blah….branding, amassing high numbers of followers, traffic, blah blah blah – but that is to me, just the entity trying to get people to conform to its cultural mores.

    Life gets in the way: sick kids/spouse, dying parent/friend/pet/spouse, work cranking up, beautiful weather outside and you’d rather play with your kids or smooch your spouse in the sweet summer night or the falling snow.

    Posting has fallen into the Facebook mentality – announce your name the live long day to an admiring bog (thankyou Emily Dickinson). Bryan, I look forward to your posts not because one will be everyday, but because the post will be enjoyable and worth reading. After three years, I have 860 followers. WP says I should have several thousand. Oops, missed out on that paradigm and do I feel guilty? Nope. Not a smidgen.

    And that’s my rant for the day. I’ll probably post on it. You do good work. Be a good father and husband and be you and let the daily posts go fishing – just don’t stay away too long because you’ll be missed.

    And about Eliot? never cared that much for Four Quarters. Some parts of it, yes. I think The Wasteland is truly his masterpiece but The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock is still my favorite. Eliot wrote like Eliot. I write like me. You write like you. Peace to you and yours. hugs.

    • Thank you! I’m not posting because WP says I should, but as a personal goal. I don’t mind taking the break, and the (sigh) was more about having gotten to such a milestone, and now I am back to day 1. I doubt that I will ever again post 100 days in a row, but I DO want to be more consistent than I have been in the past. I had one month last year where I posted twice in the entire month. That is not often enough. By the way…I’ve been blogging for about 5 years now, and I have less followers than you, and that’s OK with me!

  2. day one sigh!!!! Bryan ,I really like your works in writing // I am not a writer BUT”love to read” & “sigh …””” writing made me want to tell you that the OLDER you get (into the 90’s 🙂 ) the past/present/future// mean much more than you ever thought before!!thanks for letting me into your room of writing !!day one sigh//

    • I’ve had so many people talk about how WP will stress daily posts, etc. etc. I stopped midway in NAPOWRIMO because it felt too much like work and not creativity or happiness. I commend people who choose to post daily. I’m an odd duck and just balk at anything I think I must do. A character flaw but I’m too old to change my ways now. Whenever you post, I’m always more than happy to enjoy/

  3. Oh I think I do understand this.. it’s interesting really that in a sense only time future exist.. time present and time past has to be contained in the future.. time is pretty much a one-way street for me.. I think though the only place all the times exist is within yourself.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

