NaPoWriMo Day 30 – What a Wonderful World

I see stories in the news
of domestic violence and abuse
and I think to myself…
…would Louis still think it’s a wonderful world?
I see stories of gangs
selling girls, selling drugs
and I think to myself…
…would Satchmo still think it’s a wonderful world?
I see stories of wars
child soldiers and worse
and I think to myself…
…would Armstrong still think it’s a wonderful world?

But then again
I see stories of triumph
like kids practicing that song
sung in ‘sixty seven
by Louis…
kids in a choir mixed up of
those with disabilities, those without
singing for the mere joy of singing
and I see a future
where these kids will shake hands,
saying “how do you do?”
and really, they’ll be saying
“I love you!”
and they won’t care that one
is “normal” and the other has Down’s
and I think to myself…
…if Louis could just see this,
his face would split
into a massive smile of joy…
…and he’d think to himself,
“What a Wonderful World.
Oh yeah!”

~~

Today is the final day of (Inter?)National Poetry Writing Month, and I have managed at least one poem each day for the entire month.  I’m somewhat sorry to see this month come to an end, but the end of the month certainly won’t mean the end of writing poems (just as the beginning of the month didn’t start me writing either!).

Today’s poem was inspired by a couple of things:

  • April 30 is UNESCO International Jazz Day, so I wanted to do something in a Jazz theme…and what better way than to mention one of the Jazz all-time greats: Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong
  • two of my boys are in an “integrated” choir called Kids of Note.  This choir was created for the purpose of integrating kids with special needs with kids that are so-called normal.  One of my boys has Asperger’s syndrome, the other does not, so this choir seemed the perfect fit.  Yesterday, as I was watching them practice What a Wonderful World, I leaned over to my wife and said, “I think that this would have made Louis Armstrong smile.

By the way…if you live in the Saskatoon, SK area, why not come out to Grosvener Park United Church this Sunday (May 2) for the Kids of Note and Notations concert (at 2pm).  Maybe you’ll leave the concert thinking to yourself: “What a wonderful world!”  And while you’re at it, look up Kids of Note on facebook and click the “like” button!

6 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 30 – What a Wonderful World

    • Thanks Serena. Yes, it has been a great month! I believe that we are both following each other, so I look forward to reading more of your works, and hope that you’ll stop by my site from time to time too!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

