NaPoWriMo Day 17: Heaven’s Dew

the thirsty soil’s in need of heaven’s dew
we trust that rain will come in time, before
it’s baked too hard for water to seep through

with wind comes dust that blows in through the door
and leaves within my mouth a bitter taste
we trust that rain will come in time, before

the growing season’s come to utter waste
the thought of that, it fills me with despair
and leaves within my mouth a bitter taste

this lack of rain seems somewhat to compare
with soul drought as my Bible sits unread
the thought of that, it fills me with despair

I want God in my heart, not just my head
but I hear silence, causing me to fear
that for too long my Bible’s sat unread

Oh God I hope again you will draw near
but I hear silence, causing me to fear
this thirsty soul in need of Heaven’s dew
is baked too hard your waters to seep through

~~

As a Christian, it is important to spend time with God in prayer, and through the reading of the Bible. I must confess that, as of late, I have been letting this practice slip. I desire to get back to spending time with God, but it seems that I always find some sort of excuse to “put it off for another day”. Like any good practice, the longer one ignores it, the harder it is to get back into it, and the easier it is to find other…and less worthwhile things.

Form: terzanelle…or at least close. I broke the rules in a couple of places.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 17: Heaven’s Dew

  1. You did well! An admirable way of thinking. Because I spend so much time on the puter, I have signed up for several excellent devotionals to read the Bible and to get a deeper understanding of what I read. I find this quiet time before I start my day to be most beneficial. You have expressed in a lovely way an earnest desire to do better, to be better. I find no faults in your poem nor in your thoughts. Blessings.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

