NaPoWriMo Day 15: When Poets Talk About Their Feet

oh poem I hope you do not mind
if tetrameter forms your beat
’cause pentameter’s too refined
when poets talk about their feet

and if it is OK with you
each even syllable I’ll stress
I know that iambs are not new
but other feet would make a mess

and fourteen rows, would that be fine?
you seem to want a sonnet form
I’ll have to write you line by line
indeed that’s how I write, my norm…

I think I’ll write you in a bit
oh wait! It looks like you are writ!

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 15: When Poets Talk About Their Feet

  1. I love this. I went to a writing conference last weekend and one of the sessions was on poetry. I finally, finally understand meter. I think. Yes, I do, I understand it now. 🙂 Peace, Linda

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

