NaPoWriMo Day 6 – Aubade (Morning Poem)

The folks at napowrimo.net have challenged me to write an aubade, or morning poem.  Aubades are poems about dawn or daybreak, and are often a lovers’ morning farewell…typically, “it is a song from a door or window to a sleeping woman.” (Wikipedia).  I could not find any information indicating that the Aubade needs to take any particular form, and so I do not know if I am doing this entirely correctly…

I leave for work quite early, dear
The kids drive me insane
And so with them you’re stuck, I fear
As I speed down the lane
You’ll see me when the clock strike five
I should be sane by then
I only hope that you survive
These hours, nine or ten
Adieu, my sweet, I hope your day
Is not too hectic dear
Your lustrous hair is turning grey
It is the kids, I fear
Who knew that heading off to work
Would make me seem like such a jerk?

~~

Honestly, I do feel this way some mornings.  My kids are morning people…I am a bleary eyed man in search of coffee and quiet…  My wife also wakes slowly, and so it is sometimes hard to leave her at home with the kids.

As an interesting twist…I have today off, and my wife is planning on going out for the morning.

9 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 6 – Aubade (Morning Poem)

  1. I really like this one, though I can’t relate, I’m sure many people can! Don’t feel like a jerk for leaving your family to go to work! You are working hard for their benefit, I’m sure. Plus, you can tell that you really love your wife.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

