NaPoWriMo – Day 1: Things That Coffee Isn’t

Welcome to NaPoWriMo!  (And no, fellow Dr.Who fans, that is not a sentence in Judoon…if it were, it would be NPo WrMo)

NaPoWriMo, or National Poetry Writing Month is an annual challenge that takes place each April in which participants attempt to write one poem each day for the entire month.  Without further ado…here is my poem for April 1 (a poem of negation if you really want to know)

I do not eat it with a fork
nor does it look good on the wall
it does not bend the laws of time
it’s never green, no not at all!

it doesn’t take your dog for walks
and so you know, it cannot sing
it doesn’t rhyme with words like “orange”
nor does it wear a lot of bling

it will not steal your favourite hat
I doubt it ever rides a moose
it makes a lousy steering wheel
it seldom makes your teeth come loose

for all the things that coffee ain’t
without it I would probably faint.

14 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Day 1: Things That Coffee Isn’t

  1. Fun sonnet, Bryan! I kind of want to give coffee another chance now. Congrats on the NaPo shout out!

    -heidi

    • Thank you! I had been wondering what was up with my stats being WAY higher than usual (30 hits is a good day…I’m now at 121 for the day), so those shout-outs are really nice! So thanks to you…and everyone else who has wondered over to my site for coffee!!

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “A Road Ravaged By Thoughts” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  3. How come I only discovered this now and that you were featured on NaPoWriMo – especially when I’m such a coffee lover? Must check my blog lists more often! Love, love, love this. And I don’t believe any of coffee’s negative publicity!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

