Beware of writing poetry about ploughs!

Some words appear to rhyme upon first sight
And usually this rule works quite well, although
I warn you that this isn’t always right

These “sight rhymed” words can cause the poet plight
If they are writing poems about a plough
‘Cause some words seem to rhyme upon first sight

If farmers use their plough too late at night
They run the risk of ending in the slough
And I can tell you now, that isn’t right!

And if they’re ploughing when it is quite bright
Some farmers find the sunlight makes them cough
And all ’cause some words seem to rhyme on sight!

Do “sight rhymed” words cause you to want to fight?
I understand that urge can be quite rough
Although I do not think that this is right!

So if you’re writing poetry, you might
Find that these words can cause quite the hiccough
‘Cause Some words seem to rhyme upon first sight
But you will find this isn’t always right!

~~

at dVerse, we are writing villanelles. I couldn’t resist the urge to bend the rules to the breaking point, and yes, I took a LOT of liberties with the refrain lines.

13 thoughts on “Beware of writing poetry about ploughs!

  1. I like the slight variation in the refraining lines ~ It works very well as a counterpoint or even echo the same thoughts in a different way ~

    Some words can cause me hiccough, and I can’t do without the rhyming dictionary, smiles ~ I can’t rhyme on sight like others, ha ~ Enjoyed your villanelle ~

    Thanks for joining in and wishing you Happy Easter ~

  2. I’m told that English is a hard language to learn, both to speak & write; rhyming words do tease & cajole, & can get my dander up; though I do try to reach beyond simple rhyme to the abstract, to the internal rhyme, to the last 2-4 letters, & the sound it makes of course; still, as a dyed in ink Beat poet, I still prefer to play tennis with the net down.

    • the rhyming dictionary is always close at hand for me too!! (that and the thesaurus…so that if I can’t find a good rhyme for one word, I can find a better rhymable synonym)

  3. You are such a chuckle! This made me laugh… and yes, I had to change my a and b lines for the villanelle because I discovered not a lot of words rhymed with what I’d originally chosen.
    Delightful!

  4. Ha! That brought smiles to me, English and the “slight” rhyme, hmmm… In Irish(Gaelic) poetry it is actually welcomed and praised, a delicate almost rhyme, assonance for example. English spelling and sometimes then rhyme can be fairly frustrating. GB Shaw pointed this out, in a charming example he created, that logically “ghoti” should be the correct spelling of “fish” if we follow phonics faithfully! Have fun with that! Loved the poem, thanks again, Kevin

  5. This is hilarious! I love it, love it, love it! You made me smile today, especially with the hiccough at the end, which my eyes told me was a mistake because it would rhyme perfectly with cough. Clearly it does not. Peace, Linda

  6. English can be so inconsistent in spelling and pronunciation…a real challenge with teaching children to spell and adults learning another language. But you brought humor to it! 😀

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

