Shape…of things to come?

Sometimes what you do isn’t who you are
but it’s funny how what you do can
shape who you become in the end
so be careful what you do
lest it shape who you are
choose to do the things
that will shape you
into a
better
you

~~

today at dVerse, we are writing about calling and vocation.  I work as a dispatcher in a trucking company.  At one point I would have never seen myself in such a position.  I took the job out of necessity and not desire, but the job has been such a blessing, and I have grown to love the job (having great co-workers really helps too!).  I recently celebrated my 10 year anniversary at this job…the longest I have ever been in one position…and I don’t anticipate any changes any time soon!  So yes, what I do has shaped who I have become.

I write this poem as both an encouragement to do things that will help you to become a better person, and a warning to avoid those things that will make you less…because I truly believe that we do become what we do.

15 thoughts on “Shape…of things to come?

  1. I like the idea that what you do has a way of shaping your call! Choices ARE so important.
    (I linked you at dVerse, as Mr. Linky is working now.)

  2. I completely agree, Bryan…..I think it’s nearly impossible to spend 40+ hours a week at something and not have it somehow seep into influencing who we are. How fortunate you are to enjoy what you do so much that you truly wish to stay there 🙂

    • well…ideally, I’d still to work in a bookstore or library…but those wouldn’t pay the bills nearly as effectively, but I AM blessed with a great workplace!

  3. Vocations can be like relationships, sometimes we have to try a few of them to see if they are, or will become, a good fit. After a decade of professional acting, I took a year off to be a teacher. Then I spent 33 years working with the blind, & did not return to theater until after I retired. Your poem is bang on, sir.

    • Thanks, Glenn. Your words are so true. I went to school for 4 years for the job I though I’d spend the rest of my life at…worked at that job only for a year and a half…

  4. ….we don’t all make the best choices and it can change the trajectory of a life…fortunately the is a rhyme or synchronization in our lives that we can follow the lead of …..and not have to learn the hard way…I like how you concisely you put this philosophy

  5. First there is dark.. then there is light.. then there is movement or dance and song or sound to fuel dance of human and poetry too..

    So yes.. the flesh and blood moving moves the heart.. soul.. expressing spirit in action.. one without the other.. is just too cold.. of heart and soul.. less more fully expressed as spirit!..

    as above so below..:)

  6. It is all about choices (so we’d better make good ones!) What we choose to do does shape us whether we like or not. Congrats on 10 years! I’m currently on my longest employment at just over seven years. Here’s hoping I make it 10, too.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

