On the Statistical Probabilities of my Kids’ Bedroom Being Cleaned Without Constant Supervision

When my boys are asked to clean their room
the chances that they’ll clean is slim
these probabilities come to mind
and yes the numbers are quite grim

a chance of ninety eight percent
the eldest 2 will sit and read
despite the fact their room’s a mess
and cleaning is in desperate need

the youngest will jump on his bed
I give that chance five out of ten
and forty-nine point nine the chance
he’ll colour on the wall with pen

and if some miracle occurs
that cleaning actually does take place
they’ll all start taking ‘potty’ breaks
eighty percent chance is giving grace….

the chance of fighting breaking out
because one’s cleaning, two are not
is pretty high, ’bout nine in ten
and still there’s not a tidy spot

ninety-nine point nine nine nine
percent the chance that by day’s end
their room will be more messy still
no matter how much time they spend

And one hundred percent the chance
that by the end of cleaning day
if I look in a mirror, I’ll
find that my head is much more grey

7 thoughts on “On the Statistical Probabilities of my Kids’ Bedroom Being Cleaned Without Constant Supervision

  1. I had to be threatened….no reading until this room is clean!!!!! grrrrrr. And then a few years later when the chemistry set and tele and microscopes and the double erector set took over the floor….well, it became, No reading, no erecting, no stargazing until this room is safe and a small path to your closet is achieved…..I think by that time they figured out I went to and from my room via the oak outside my window and then I became a teenager. I feel for you when that happens. You will be lucky if you have any hair left.

  2. After 18 years of studying this phenomenon, I would say your stats are pretty accurate and the likelihood of it ever changing is about 2.75%

  3. This is great! Both of my sons’ rooms are just awful. I ask how they can live like that and they look at me with a “like what?” look, puzzled that I see anything wrong with it!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

