I Confess…

I confess
that I’m bothered by many things
like children abused by their parents
like corporate greed
like government corruption
I confess
that I’m bothered by many things
like racial profiling
like ethnic cleansing
like religious hatred
I confess
that I’m bothered by many things
like homeless people here in my city
like women sold like cattle into the sex trade
like child soldiers in conflicts not their own
I confess
that I’m not bothered enough

~~

I wanted to write another piece for Anthony’s Poetic Confessions prompt at dVerse

12 thoughts on “I Confess…

  1. Brilliant! Love the honest confession in the last line. I like all the posts I’ve read on your blog and I am mentioning you in my blogging 101 (yes, I still need that to get over my fear of technology) assignment post. If it was not that I have to write it, I would have still been sitting here, reading more of your posts

  2. Ooooh…compelling write. At first I was thinking that these are all such excellent things to be bothered about and then BAM you hit me with the ending and it was such a conviction. Very well done!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

