Unblemished

I don’t often re-blog someone else’s work, but this poem was simply too good not to share!

mishunderstood

totomai martinez photo

Let me swim again
In pools of innocence
I will not surface for air
Until it is safe and pure
I will not speak with forked tongue
But sing only sweetly of stars
And cars and the buzzing of bees

Let me lay down again
In fields of pink moss
Where seeds of treason and trickery
Are not sown
I will feel joy
As eagles, not egos
Soar overhead

Let me be young again
Eyes wide with wonder
Waiting for the next miracle to unfold
I will not know of lies
No alibi, candy coated
Only love given graciously
Untainted and true

At dVerse, Mary introduced us to a talented photographer and poet named Totomai Martinez. Among thousands of amazing photos, this one spoke to me immediately.

Image credit: Yoshi by Totomai Martinez

https://www.flickr.com/photos/totomai

View original post

One thought on “Unblemished

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

