Searching for an Answer

The current prompt at dVerse is that of time.  Strangely appropriate for me, as I haven’t had much time to write in the last week or so.  I was out of town for a few days to attend my father-in-law’s funeral, and when I have been at home, I have been spending my time with my wife and kids, spending time just thinking about my father-in-law’s life, and of course, spending time in grieving his death.

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die… (Ecclesiastes 3:1-2a)

The Bible says there is a time to die
a time to leave our life upon this sphere
and yet if you’re the one left standing here
you can’t help but to ask the question “why?”

the fact of death makes sense when viewed from far
yet senseless when it hits too close at hand
it never seems to fit with what we’ve planned
and makes us stop and think ’bout what we are

the grief we face seems far too much to bear
and yet we need to find the strength to cope
“the grief will pass” is all that we can hope
yet it remains to us as close as air

It seems, no matter how much we might try
there is no answer to that question, “Why?”

8 thoughts on “Searching for an Answer

  1. There is truly no answer to the question WHY. It is easy to look at deaths objectively if they are no one you know…but so very hard when they hit close. This I know firsthand, and I know you do too

  2. no, unfortunately there is no answer. that obviously does not stop us from craving it. this was quite beautifully said. I hope time helps to lessen the grief, in the meantime, spending this precious time with your family is…well, precious.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss…hope we all find inner peace someday…i wonder if there’s really any answer to the question you ask …the great healer knows all..nice sonnet

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

