My Sisters Sure Were Lucky!

A while back, over at dVerse, we were asked to write Character Sketches.  Today we have been invited to write poetic self-portraits.  One of the poems that I wrote for the character sketch prompt happened to be a self portrait.  You can find it here if you’re interested.

Today, though, I want to write a different self portrait. I wanted to do something slightly egotistical (hopefully that’s not how people see me in real life, but hey…this is my poem, so I’ll do with it what I want! If any of my sisters read this, please feel free to agree with me, or at least don’t be too mean in the comments…

~~

back in 1973
there were 3 girls. sisters.
daughters of one couple.
they didn’t realize it then,
but their lives were incomplete.
but then
in april
of that very year,
something happened…
something wonderful!
that would give
their lives
greater meaning.
they were presented
with a new sibling.
there was something
different about this sibling, though.
up until then
they always assumed
that sibling equaled girl
but to their shock
and to their horror
they were told
that the little bundle
held by their mother
was…
…a boy!
and when they
got over their shock
they finally understood
that now, their lives
would be much better

that poor boy, though,
grew up without
every experiencing the joys
that his sisters knew…
…the sheer joy…
of having…
a brother

14 thoughts on “My Sisters Sure Were Lucky!

  1. How fun to have a lot of siblings actually ~ My two older boys didn’t know what to do with their youngest sibling, a girl but she was and is still pampered ~ Either way, hope it was an enjoyable childhood ~

  2. Have to laugh because my brother always teased we three sisters unmercifully…but we loved him like no other….always we say he is most handsome of course.

  3. One sister, one brother, me being the oldest; felt like a perfect balance for me; one of each, never occurred to me that it was out of balance for my sister. Raised three daughters, no sons, though, and a houseful of women has its horrors & rewards; now 3 son-in-laws, & 5 grandchildren spice up the mix.

  4. Well..i can certainly relate to this..living in a household of grandmother..sister..mother..and never a brother or father..

    i was only a duckling that imprinted it’s mother…
    but oh god…it would have been easier..with at least one brother or father…

    or even a boy friend for my mother….

    Much of it is learned..and that sometimes..trumps the natural of what can be..if learning is balanced…instead of mother ..grandmother…and sister loaded..:)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

