New Form (or new twist on an old form)

At dVerse we’ve been asked to make new forms
of poems for poets to express their words
and this one can be writ in towns or farms
but don’t expect great praises or rewards

I’ve written this in sonnet style you’ll note
but if you look at last words of each line
true rhymes I think you won’t see here tonight
but yet those words are linked and not alone

I hope you take the time to look it through
and don’t just throw your hands up in disgust
after the poem the mystery I’ll throw
to you because you are my honoured guest

I hope that once the form’s descrip is heard
you’ll find this style not too very hard

~~

Today at dVerse, Gay is asking us to make up new poetical forms.  I decided to take an old form and give it a unique twist.  If you look at the sonnet above, you’ll notice a definite abab/cdcd/efef/gg form, but instead of the last syllable of each line rhyming with their counterpart, they start and end with the same consonant sounds, but have different vowel sounds in the middle.  Therefore, “forms” from line one is changed to “farms” in line 3, and “note” in line 5 is changed to “(to)night” in line 7, etc.

This style could be used in any existing form poetry where rhymes are replaced with vowel substitutions instead.  Hope you enjoyed…and I hope, even more, that you understood my explanation  🙂

Oh…and because I’m supposed to have a name for the form, I’ll simply call it “Vowel Substitution”

I’ll link this up to dVerse later today when the bar opens (at 3pm EST).

21 thoughts on “New Form (or new twist on an old form)

  1. Very clever.. since in a way consonant rhyme (if I might say so) could also be called alliteration… (or?)… usually an alliteration would occur at the beginning of the line, but I really like this idea, it makes the rhymes (that are not rhymes) more subtle. I have found that near rhymes are sometimes better in a poem than the real rhymes… clever an nice.

  2. ha. do you think anyone that writes expects great cheers….lol….ha…nice use of consonance as well….i have yet to write a sonnet, so i might have to give it a try, your way….smiles. nice intructional poem too…

    • Wow, you blew my free verse socks off with this one. I wanted to write another one of my original form Cinemagenic poems, but after posting 3 dozen of them over the past two years, nobody would have been amused; so I just did a shape poem; stairwell stanzas.

  3. Hi Bryan, I like how you worked this form & also how you explained it. I will have to try your form sometime….as I like your variation.

  4. I liked this Bryan, you cleverly explained the point of your poem within your poem. I like that it raises the question of what is poetry with the above comment. My question is why isn’t it? Should poetry be to a prescribed form, no, then we’d all be asleep well and truly, language is about finding ways to use it to express our intention and we all play with it in our unique ways. Its what makes d’verse the vibrant place it is that so many different poets take a similar prompt and create their own shape from it. Good for you my friend, bend every rule and make up a few new ones to be bent another day.

  5. Your form is too much fun! Another new one to add to my poetry book to try in the future. I love poems about poetry and process. Very clever.

  6. hmmm…very interesting take on the endings there. I like the subtlety of the rhyme scheme…working with consonance as apposed to straight rhymes…not really being much of a rhymer, I’m curious I’d it was easier or just as hard.

  7. Hmm, a catchier name for this might be ‘Sound Shift’, reminding us of the changes that have taken place in the English language, with the invasions of the Angles, Saxons and Friesians displacing the Welsh in England.

  8. I would see this as a particular form of half-rhyme or slant-rhyme, which I personally love to use in preference to full rhyme, which can be too heavy at times. You have made it your own with the matching of both beginning and ending consonants. And it goes so well with the sonnet form! Hope to give it a try some time soon. 🙂

  9. I always find sonnet very challenging to write but you made this a fun one ~ Nothing wrong with mixing up the ending verses so it works well for me ~

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

