Metamorphosis

“Write what you know”…
perhaps the biggest bit of
‘bunk’ advice anyone’s ever given
a writer.

“Write what you don’t know”
perhaps that’s risky to say…
even downright dangerous
but that’s why I’m a poet today

short stories, flash fiction,
one ‘made up as I went along’ novel,
but like a caterpillar
I was stuck chewing leaves
and it was all tasting about the same

I watched as other bloggers…
…ones whose work I admired…
posted poetic bits and I thought
“wow! Good stuff! But I don’t dare…
I can’t rhyme…I can’t write to meter”
then I thought, “why not give it a shot!”

So I wrote a sonnet…about haiku of all things
and proved to myself I can write poetry
sometimes I write poems
(like this one)
that don’t have “structure”
but sometimes
I want…I need to write rhyme or rhythm
to stretch myself, to make myself better

I’m pretty novice, as the poet goes
but that caterpillar has spun his cocoon
and gone through metamorphosis

now I can fly on the wings of poetry
(both mine and that of others)
to see and experience new things
and my world
has just
gotten
bigger

~~

over at dVerse, Anthony wants us to write poetry about how we have evolved as poets.  This poem expresses a bit about why I started writing poetry and what it has done for me.  It also explains why I find the dVerse community to be so beneficial to me: as it allows me to constantly learn more about poetry both through the prompts and through reading the works of the other participants.

17 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

  1. learn to fly butterfly…i was much the same writing short story to start and it was only when pushed by anothr that i made the jump…there are things that only seem to be said in poetry….and to me it is what the inspiration is when it hits…if it has rhythm or rhyme or just free verse….

    • Gotta say a big “Thank You” to you Bjorn…it was through reading your stories over at Trifecta that I started reading more of your posts and discovered dVerse. dVerse has certainly been a HUGE part of helping me to develop as a poet.

  2. I like the idea that the caterpillar going through metamorphosis. I think as poets we go through many metamorphoses as we continue to develop our poetic style. I am glad you are flying on the wings of poetry and also understand how it expands one’s world!

  3. Love it: Write what you don’t know. What a sad place would literature be if everybody knew exactly what they were talking about. Literature would sound a lot like science or math to me.

    This is a beautiful poem, I like the form it doesn’t have. 🙂

    Take care and keep smiling.

    Kiss.

  4. The only novice poet is the one that has yet to take pen in hand and write. If you have expression (you do) and a way to touch your own heart for all to see (you do), you are very accomplished. Continue to express and touch!

  5. I can’t believe how we have the same idea Bryan, I too am flapping my wings waiting to soar like a butterfly. How wonderful Bryan the journey though, seeing yourself develop, learning..all for the love of words.

  6. Ah, now, I can totally understand where you’re coming from in this poem! And the butterfly is one of my own personal motifs for a number of reasons. Poetry is sometimes treated as some kind of dark art that only certain, gifted people can craft. Poppycock! Keep on finding your wings and your colours!

  7. like a caterpillar
    I was stuck chewing leaves… so cool..and the metamorphosis…developing on and on…and hey… so much more to discover…isn’t it awesome

    • there is SO much more to discover! smiles! Definitely awesome…and I hope that as long as I’m drawing breath I’ll continue the journey of discovery (and then, once I get to the Great Beyond, discover more!!)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

