The Guy with the Beard

his beard, a bit scraggly
and with more than a hint of grey
protrudes from the bottom of his face
in indirect proportion to the hair-line
on his scalp

other than Sundays, you won`t see him
wear a dress-shirt or tie
he`s much more comfortable
in a baggy sweat-shirt and cargo pants

nothing makes him happier than getting a big
“squishy hug” from one of his kids,
or having one of them climb into his lap
and snuggle for a while

his face, bespectacled, and with
the beginning of wrinkles, isn’t exactly
what most people would think of as
“model material”, but he really doesn’t care

and his is the face that I see
every day
when I look in the mirror

~~

I couldn’t resist writing another character-sketch poem for dVerse

8 thoughts on “The Guy with the Beard

  1. Damn, for a moment I thought you describing me; ‘cept for the hairline; mine is still blissfully ful; good hair the stylists says. I would not doubt that you could be a character, in your poem, or any other; I know that I certainly am.

  2. ha. nice capture of yourself…i dont even wear a tie on sundays….but other than that it could have been me…interchange cargo pants with jeans mostly but i have a few pair of cargos as well…and hugs or playing with the kids…is the best…smiles.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

