Flat Tire – Bout Rimé for dVerse

Today at dVerse, Tony Maude has introduced us to Bouts-rimés.  As I can’t possibly explain this any better than Tony did, I’ll simply quote part of what he has to say:

“Bouts-rimés (boo reeMAY) is French for “rhymed ends”. It is the name given to a poetic game in which a list of words that rhyme with one another is given to one or more poets who then make their own poems, all of which use the same rhyming words in the order in which they were given at the end of their lines.”

Tony then gave us the following list: drive, side, night, lied, wage, saved, made, face, nurse, church, worse, purse, back, that

14 words, so it only seemed to make sense to write a sonnet.  Go to dVerse to see Tony’s full article and to find the link that will allow you to read other poets’ poems based on those 14 words.  Without further ado….here’s my poem:

~~

One Sunday as I went out for a drive

I found I had to pull o’er to the side

‘Twas fright’ning as it was the dead of night

I’d claim great courage (but I would have lied)

A flattened tire seemed to be my wage

If I could find a spare then I’d be saved

From yonder bush a frightful noise was made

And to my great chagrin I saw a face

With great relief I saw it was a nurse

But she stood in the graveyard of a church

And once again my fears became much worse!

With fear I saw her reach into her purse

Held something to her ear, then put it back

She’d called a tow-truck.  Whatcha think of that?

34 thoughts on “Flat Tire – Bout Rimé for dVerse

  1. hahaha…you had me all ready for a ghost or zombie and wanting to know what she was pulling out of that purse….a cell phone….now that is frightening…esp when people wont stop texting you….lol….well played brian

    • Yours is the third car journey, including my own poem, tonight; great minds seek each other in the maze, right? Nice working of the prompt, & enjoyed the levity at the close; thanks.

  2. for a second I you had me caught up there when her hand reached into her purse…I probably watch too many murder mystery type shows. I enjoyed the levity of this piece.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

