Sangria

Copyright - Janet Webb

It was if the face in the portrait was staring with cold disapproval at the drink I had just made.

For the briefest of moments I was tempted to feel guilt at this little indulgence of mine.  I managed to shrug of that feeling, however.  I laughed at the portrait, said “Cheers!” and picked up the glass.  The cool red wine warmed my throat pleasantly on the way down, and the fresh-cut fruit was delicious.  I wondered for a while how anyone could disapprove of a Sangria.  Then I remembered, the model for the portrait had been allergic to strawberries.

~~

Written for Friday Fictioneers

12 thoughts on “Sangria

  1. Dear Bryan,

    First the practical: you need an “as” before “if” in the first sentence. There. Second, fun story, I could almost taste the sangria in your description. Strawberry allergy? Bummer.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

