Growing Up

When I was a child
this one thing was true
I wanted to grow up
do what adults do

Yes, being a grown-up
what could be more grand
I’d call all the shots (at
least that’s what I’d planned)

I’d have a cool job like
a doctor or spy
I knew that Id be a
most important guy

But time slowly crept by
year piled on year
the days of my childhood
seemed ever more dear

For suddenly I was
with huge horrors faced
like politics, taxes
and choice of tooth-paste

So now that I’m 40
and am no young pup
I’ll say it with prid that
I’ll Never Grow Up!

Bryan Ens

~~

posted for dVerse Open Link Night (and inspired by this selfie I took of myself yesterday)

16 thoughts on “Growing Up

  1. haha…the choice of tooth-paste… something you should never take on the light shoulder…smiles… good on you not growing up.. adult life can be boring except if you work as a spy.. ha…would love to do this…cool selfie as well..made me smile

  2. Growing up is definitely highly over-rated! Interesting, isn’t it, how when one is a kid one can hardly wait to grow up…..and as an adult one realizes the great advantages of being a kid (at heart anyway….and always).

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

