Rebekah’s Twins

I’ve been feeling rather introspective lately about my role/identity as a poet.  I’ve come to peace with the fact that I am indeed a poet, but that hasn’t stopped the introspection process.  I write poetry because I enjoy doing so, and if I can bring joy, inspiration, hope, encouragement, and/or humour to someone else, that’s certainly an added bonus.  Here’s a bit of poetic introspection about the process, and maybe the why of my poetry.  The prose poetry form that Samuel Peralta introduced us to recently seems to be working well for my introspections.

~~

My embryonic thoughts are Rebekah’s twins, jostling with each other in the womb of my mind until they’ve developed enough that they can be birthed by the midwife of paper and ink.  And even then, one thought tries to grasp another by the heel and haul it back in a frantic struggle for dominance on the page.

A poem begins to grow with one thought held in a place of honour like a first-born Esau, only to be replaced by another, that Jacob-like, steals the birthright of the first.

A constant struggle and fight continues, and sometimes one thought is banished to a distant land…only to return, transformed into something better through its absence, and I can only hope that my poetic offspring will come to live at peace with each other.  I rejoice when these thought-children of mine can finally coalesce into a unified family, where one thought plus one thought is greater than two thoughts.  Where those thoughts give birth to more and more until nations of thoughts join together to become so much more than multiple thoughts…but become One Unified Whole

And I…once my poem has come fully into being…I can only stand by and watch as an observer, to see what my poem will become, and I can hope, that one day, this offspring of mine will make a difference.

~~

I’ll be linking this to dVerse for Open Link Night.

13 thoughts on “Rebekah’s Twins

  1. Bryan,, love the thought of a poem as two twins like two thoughts coming at peace whith each other… Yes this took me sometime to understand.. the creation is about these contrasts – a unity that’s bigger than its parts… and then afterward just sit and watch it grow…

  2. nice comparison to jacob and esau…if your poem starts cooking a meat dish and puts fur on the chest to appear more hairy, then you know that you have to work on the peacefulness…smiles… i think a bit tension is good for our words every once and a while you know… smiles

  3. Hi Bryan, you have described the process of poetic creation very well. Your metaphor with Esau and Jacob is especially good. And, yes, it is nice to think that some of our poems anyway make a difference! (To both the writer and the reader.)

  4. Hey Bryan – I’ve missed out on the Form For All lately – something had to give, but I plan to return. Your introspections are such a reflection of my own wonderings about my identity as a writer/poet. The struggle of Rivkah’s twins is such an apt and glorious description, I adore it. I find that I am better able to express my inner thoughts in poem form than in traditional prose/flash fiction – isn’t that curious?

  5. Well.. yes it always makes a difference..
    as ‘we’ are here…
    i enjoyed listening to your creation activity process…
    And mine can be almost generating..anywhere..
    from the Kitchen sink..to the bedroom mirror…
    But as long as the ‘faucet’ continues..to run..i am
    happy running with its flow…:)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

