Destination

The theme at Carpe Diem this month is that of a pilgrimage through various Buddhist shrines on the island of Shikoku, Japan.  I am not a Buddhist, so I cannot engage in this prompt in the way that some can/will.  That being said, as a Christian, you could say that I am on a pilgrimage of my own.  I have been forgiven, but I’m certainly not perfect (nor will I be until I get to meet my Savior face to face).  I am called, though, to live a perfect life.  I know that this is an impossibility, and yet it is what I need to strive for/yearn for.  If I can each day learn to live a bit more like Jesus would have me live, then I think that this pilgrimage is worthwhile.

destination

of a pilgrimage –

every step

Yes, there is an ultimate goal – to live with Jesus in Heaven…but right now, I am called to live here.  I need to make the most of it!

 

3 thoughts on “Destination

  1. As a Christian … you also can go on a pilgrimage Bryan, and that can also be Shikoku, because a pilgrimage is a wandering over God’s ways and in Buddhism there are things that also can be seen as part of Christianity. By the way … next to this pilgrimage along the 88 temples on Shikoku Island, we also will follow in the steps of Paulo Coelho’s pilgrimage to Santiago De Compostela or The Way of St. James, maybe that’s more your ‘path’ …

  2. thanks for allowing me to follow your writings /poetry /& your thoughts//I these reasons I am glad to have “tried” to operate 🙂 this compute
    r & that said I am a very slow learner 🙂

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

