The Day After…

The host of the Carpe Diem haiku site has invited us to write a new haiku inspired by the following haiku by Alexey Andreyev.

day after Valentine’s –
red petals on the floor, and
a broom in the corner

(c) Alexey Andreyev

Our host interpreted this haiku as a tragic event (such as a quarrel) because the rose petals remain unswept.  He is very likely correct.  However, when I first read Andreyev’s haiku (and before reading the one by Chèvrefeuille), my interpretation was more along the lines that the Valentine’s celebration was a joyful one, and the couple was still celebrating and therefore had not had time to clean up yet.  For comparison, I’ll share Chèvrefeuille’s haiku before I share my own.  I think that the above haiku (and the following two haiku inspired by it) show the beauty of poetry in that different readers can interpret the same poem in dramatically different ways – and none of the interpretations are necessarily wrong.

petals of roses
scattered through the living room
a ring on the table

(c) Chèvrefeuille

And now for mine:

a celebration:

festivities continue

into the next day

14 thoughts on “The Day After…

  1. After reading the haiku by Alexey again … I have to admit that I have interpreted it in a different way. I just not saw the possibility that it could be a joyful scenery. I like the way how you’ve interpreted the haiku by Alexey … As we can see now every one reads haiku in his/her own way. I think it has very much to do with the mood in which you are as you read the haiku. I was in a exhausted mood and was in a sad mood, so I interpreted the haiku by Alexey as a sad experience.

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

