Yekaterinburg

city straddles

border of two continents

red-soaked snow

~~

Carpe Diem‘s theme today is the Russian city of Yekaterinburg.  This haiku is a bit darker than I tend to write, but in researching this city, I learned that it was the site of the 1918 slaughter of the last Russian Czar (Nicholas II) and his family.  I felt the need to reflect this tragedy my post.  This city literally straddles the border of Europe and Asia, and figuratively, you might say, straddled the border between the Age of the Czars and Soviet Communism.

~~

Author’s note:  given the fact that the murder took place in July, there would have been no snow on the ground.  For some reason, I’ve always been under the false impression that this event took place in winter, hence the reference to snow.  However, this blog was published in winter, and the Romanov murder is still a stain on Russia’s history, so hopefully my mistake can be forgiven.  -BE

One thought on “Yekaterinburg

  1. Honestly, when I think of Russia at all, one of the first images that comes to mind is snow, no matter the time of year. Probably due to the images I’m exposed to when Russia is represented in entertainment. Always cold, always harsh. If you hadn’t mentioned it, I wouldn’t have noticed, so thanks!

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

