It’s 2011

It’s early afternoon of the first day of 2011.  That’s right, 2011 is over 13 hours old here.  And in those 13 hours and some odd minutes, I have to say that 2011 isn’t much different so far than 2010 was.

Ah…but the question is, will 2011 end up being different than 2010 was?  If you’re my friend on facebook, you may already know my New Year’s resolution.  If you are not on my friend list (which may, but won’t necessarily make you my facebook enemy), you will have to learn of my resolution here.

I resolve, that in 2011, I will take over the world.  That’s right.  World domination!  Will I attain this goal?  Probably not.  So why did I set such a lofty goal?

To answer that question, let’s take a look at some typical resolutions that people make

  • quit smoking
  • lose weight
  • join a gym and get fit
  • eat more healthy
  • get a promotion at work
  • etc., etc., etc.

What do all of these goals have in common?  One thing.  MOST people will not succeed in carrying out their resolutions.  Sure, there are a few people out there who will actually succeed (and my congratulations to them), but 98.6% of resolutions will result in failure (NOTE:  this statistic is purely a guess…no research into this topic has actually been done by me).

What does this lack of success lead to?  A feeling of failure.  The simpler the goal not succeeded at, the greater the sense of failure.  Therefore, I figured if my goal is virtually impossible to attain, my sense of failure will be almost non-existent.

So then why do I bother setting a resolution if I don’t expect to attain it?  The only thing worse than failing to attain your resolution is not setting one in the first place!

So…if you haven’t already done so, set a resolution for this new year…and fail with pride!

(of course, this article does not apply to those of you who will actually achieve their goals…for those who will succeed, I commend you!)

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

