The Law of Childhood

I’ve come to the conclusion that there is a law that applies to children.  OK, there are many laws that apply to children (and the same laws often apply to adults too, but they are especially applicable to kids).

I have two boys.  the younger of whom would describe himself as “Four and three-quarters years old”  Apparently 4 and a half won’t cut it!  Yesterday, as we were grocery shopping, he spied the watermelons.  He LOVES watermelon.  So he was instantly asking if we could buy some.  Now, we haven’t had this particular fruit for a while, so my wife and I agreed that this would be a good choice for dessert for that evening’s supper.

So we sat our boys down for a highly nutritious supper of corn-dogs (contain the food groups of imitation meat, over-processed starchy vegetable, and most likely some sort of dairy byproduct) and then watermelon for dessert.

Now.  Let me back up a few days…on Sunday, we got together with my wife’s family to celebrate Mother’s Day.  Since we probably won’t have the chance to get together with my in-laws again for a while, we also celebrated my two sons’ upcoming birthdays.  My mother-in-law keeps us well stocked with new outfits for my ever-growing kids, so these gifts of garments do a great deal to keeping us out of the poor-house!

Back to yesterday’s supper:  My younger son ate his supper and greatly enjoyed his watermelon.  My wife and I were out of the room at the time that he consumed his dessert, but when he was finished, he came into the room where we were.  It was at this point that we realized: “he’s wearing one of his new shirts!”  It had been a white shirt with blue stripes.  Now it was a white shirt with blue stripes and LARGE pink stain.

So…the law of childhood that we realized at this point is this:  “The age of the article of clothing worn is always inversely proportionate to the messiness of the meal consumed”

OR, you could take from this the following parenting tip:  “If your 4-year-old is wearing a new shirt, it’s a good idea to remove it before he starts eating watermelon!”

Please Comment! Otherwise I won't know that you've been reading!

